In some countries it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age Is it positive or negative to the development

Many countries have a maximum age limit prescribed for hiring in a specific job. However, the topic is being hotly debated whether it is wrong to reject a prospective employee on the basis of their age. I think it is a positive as well as a negative development.

On the one hand, it is acceptable not to hire an employee after attaining a specific age. There are ample reasons why companies refrain from an employee who is beyond a specific age due to scientific factors. There are some scientific theories which claim that it is difficult for a human mind to process or store information after attaining a specific age. As such many companies prefer having someone younger to take over a specific role because it is easier to train them and are more open to new challenges. Thus, it is a gamble to go after an old person.

On the other hand, many organizations prefer someone who has a considerable experience in a specific area to cater to the needs of the organization. There are many benefits of having an elder employee than their younger counterparts as with age comes experience. Furthermore, they can utilize their learning and implement their mind in a better manner. Moreover, one should not be discrimination against anyone on any basis. There may be certain areas where the age and exposure plays a pivotal role and in no manner can be substituted.

In conclusion, there should be no bias towards the person on the basis of age. One should take into consideration the pros and cons of hiring a person for a specific post and also consider that age is just a number and many time the experience is important.