In some countries more and more shops are open longer hours every day.

What are positive and negative developments of this?

The trend of doing business till late night is burgeoning in many nations; however, it has both positive and negative effects on individuals and society. While it begets benefits in terms of convenience for the working people, some security risks are associated with this development.

To embark with, the good side of extended opening hours is the privilege it gives to the people with a tight schedule to shop at their convenient time. This is to say, many people have tiring routine due to the engagement in odd jobs along with the full-time job, so they have to take a day off to do groceries and purchase other house-hold stuff. Therefore, this development brings ease for the people, who are unable to spare time from their daily routine, to do shopping during day time. For instance, employers in Canada claimed that the number of absentees from workplace to do shopping was more during the start of the month but now it is reduced to a great extent.

Nevertheless, this development has brought some safety troubles for the business owners because at mid-night shops are liable to theft and robbery. Local offenders found it easy to rob from shops, as the allowed working hours by the government for shops is till 8 o clock after that owners do it at their own risk. While the government provides security for day time, at night security is a great issue associated with this development. For example, local police of California stated in the Daily Times that 46% of criminal cases are reported after 12 AM due to security lapse.

To conclude, this essay argued that the opening of shops for prolonged hours embolden consumers to shop at their own pace; however, on the negative side, the threat of increase in crime rate is the major drawback associated with it. If government provides security at night, it would be a good development for the nation.