In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There are a number of people around the world, who would prefer to purchase a real-estate property rather than renting it. In this essay, I will consider the reasons that are lying behind it and whether it is good or bad.

The main reason that people believe that owning a home is better than renting it is that property is an asset and theoretically can be a source of income. Meanwhile, renting an apartment or house is always a source of monthly expenses. In addition, as a rule, any kind of renovations are not allowed by a property owner. For instance, if somebody would like to change something in the house, they had to ask official permission from the owners. Another reason why the general public wishes to owe real-estate property is that a renter can increase monthly rent on short notice and nothing can be done about it.

In my opinion, the desire to be an owner of their home has as positive consequences as negative ones and it depends on a personal situation. First, I think that if a person does not have enough funds to buy a home and has to loan money from a bank then it is a disadvantageous situation because the person becomes tied hand and foot by mortgage payments for years. On the other hand, if there is financial stability and extra money, buying a property might be a great investment due to the fact that prices on a real-estate are gradually increasing, and lending an apartment or a house can bring monthly income to their owner.

In conclusion, the public might consider owning a property, as one of the essential goals because having your own accommodation is more comfortable and can be a good investment. Meanwhile, I believe that in some cases it can have some drawbacks such as enormous debts that would not be paid off for years. Thus, the idea to purchase property might be as good as bad depending on the personal circumstances of a person.