In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, many people think that children need to be competitive enough and winning is everything, while others think otherwise. In this essay, I will discuss the negative and the positive points with regards to the development and express my opinion along with supporting examples that sometimes the development turns into negative.

To start with, people think that being competitive leads to excellence. It is because all parents or elders want their younger ones to be successful and achieve goals. For instance, the teachers in the schools arrange competitions to encourage the pupils to be active and confident. Furthermore, the idea to compete helps them streamline their process to achieve milestones. Also, focus, dedication, discipline, respect, and organizing ourselves are the qualities and values that build up in personality development.

On the other hand, many people may learn the lesson to fight and win, while others might disregard it and things can go out of hand. For example, to take admissions in professional courses, many rich people bribe the officers and secure seats to make their future bright. It is gradually transforming into another hollow system. Moreover, few who are competitive get failures gets disappointed which leads them to lose confidence instead of learning positively.

To conclude, instead of nurturing children that winning is the only goal, they should teach that failures are stepping stones towards success and encourage them to actively participate in competition positively as there can turn out to be malicious development sometimes.