In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, many people think that children need to be competitive enough and winning is everything, while others think otherwise. In this essay I will discuss the negative and the positive points with regards to the development and express my opinion along with supporting examples that sometimes the development turns into negative.

To start with, people think that being competitive leads to the excellence. It is because all parents or elders wants their younger ones to be successful and achieve goals. For instance, the teachers in the schools arrange any competitions to encourage the pupil to be active and be confident. Furthermore, the idea to compete helps them streamline their process to achieve milestones. Also, focus, dedication, discipline, and respect and organising ourselves are the qualities and values that build up in personality development.

On the other hand, many people may learn the lesson to fight and win, while others might disregard it and things can go out of hand. For example, to take admissions in the professional course, many rich people bribe the officers and secure the seat to make their future bright. It is gradually transforming into another hollow system. Moreover, few who are competitive get failures gets disappointment which leads them to lose confidence instead to learning positively.

To conclude, instead of nurturing children that winning is the only goal, they should teaching that failures are stepping stone towards success and encourage to actively participate in competition positively as there can be turn out to be malicious development sometimes.