In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

In some societies people attribute success to a desperate attempt. They maintain this notion by conveying it to the young generation as a strong belief shaping their mind. Although this paradigm would bring some advantages in its wake, in my opinion, the undeniable drawbacks would outweigh any of them.

The positive impacts of this opinion can be evaluated from two different scales: the individuals and society. At the first side, this idea would definitely lead to more hard working, smart and obedient children who every parent is proud of them. Instead of facing drug addiction, wasting time, and sexual matters, as every teenager challenge, these youths attempt their best to build their future by hard working and studying. This will culminate in experts who build a booming economy and strong society in the next level. Considering Japan as a strong illustration, this developed country which is one of the pioneers of the technology world, would never face such an achievement unless by the attempts of different generations of its youths.

Looking at the other side of the spectrum, there are drawbacks would definitely exert a negative influence over both the individuals and society. If children face failure, they would feel a sense of emptiness and useless as they consider themselves guilty for all issues and problems. Depression and panic attacks can be mentioned as some of the consequences of such belief which has an ultimate effect on both physical and mental health. In order to avoid such feelings, according to the common culture, they put themselves in a vicious circle by trying to fulfil achievements as much as possible by limiting themselves from leisure time, hobbies and interests. In spite of good academic grades and a broad knowledge, they suffer loneliness, communicational problems, and … The high suicide rate and depression struggled in some societies are the ultimate results of such wrong approach.

By way of conclusion, its generally true that successfulness is the fruit of hardworking. However, there are many negative aspects through this approach which suicide and depression are just few of them. So, I believe it shouldn’t be a core belief implanted in children’s mind as the only way of success.