Some parents believe that child should not waste time by reading entertainment books but instead they should spend time to read educational books only. What is your opinion about this?

Children waste a lot of their precious time going through comic story books. This precious time, instead of wasting, can be utilized to study general knowledge as well as (curriculum) course books. Lamentably, this is believed by many parents. In my opinion, however, educational books play an important role in moulding a child but entertainment books are equally important.

The school curriculum plays a crucial role for a child’s career growth. The subjects taught at school level are essential to understand a child’s subject of interest, which in turn would help choose their career in the future. To illustrate, if a student is well accomplished in biology he can choose to be a doctor. It clearly shows the importance of school courses in a pupil’s life.

Comic books are a very good source to learn new vocabulary and moral values of life. Additionally, they also excel in creativity. Comics encourage a child to think outside the box during any challenging situation he may encounter. A child(kid) would feel rejoiced reading funny comics and at the same time he would learn a lot from it. Calvin and Hobbs is an outstanding example of comic which teaches brand new words every day.

To conclude, for an overall growth of a child, it is equally important for parents(guardians) to expose their children (wards) to comic world along with their daily school courses. Educational books serve as a superb source of theoretical knowledge whereas entertainment books serve as a practical teacher in a child’s life. Both together would bring out the child’s maximum potential. Hence, both are important in their own ways and cannot be compared with each other.