Some parents think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of pre-school age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better caregivers for their young children.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that when parents are at work, close relations provide the best care to young children, while others believe daycare centres offer a better option. While many relatives can be trusted to take care of youngsters properly, this essay argues that childcare professionals are better equipped to care for young children due to their training and experience.

Many parents in full-time employment prefer to leave their young ones with grandparents and siblings when they are at work. This is often an issue of trust, as parents feel their child will be safer with someone from within the family. For example, a recent study showed that 62% of working mothers prefer a member of their immediate family to provide care when they are working. However, this essay argues that most family members are not trained childcare professionals and may not have the skills required to fully nurture a child.

Others say that daycare centres are a better option due to the fact that most of their employees are skilled professionals. Many of those employed in these centres are highly experienced and have diplomas in child development, which means they have the background and training for how best to care for children. For instance, a recent government survey of childcare centres in the UK reported that about 80% of their employees have some form of professional training related to their jobs. For this reason, this essay believes that the children left in the care of these centres are better looked after.

In conclusion, although some parents may prefer the bond of trust inherent within a family when choosing a caregiver for their children, this essay finds that children are better off under the care of daycare centres due to their staffs’ professional training and experience.