Some people are afraid to go out for fear of being robbed on the streets. Still, there are robberies that happen inside houses. What do you think is the best thing a person can do to ensure his/her own security? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Your task

With the increasing number of threats and robberies, people are facing security issues everywhere if they hide inside the house or they go to the market. The thought process of this essay will discuss the several countermeasures needs to be taken by the government and the citizens to enhance their safety against being an easy target for criminals.

There are several precautions needs to be taken by the local people when they go outside the house. We all know that offender target those persons who wear precious accessories like exorbitant jewellery and watches while travelling outside the house. These items become the eye-catching for the thieves, and the person becomes the victim. Moreover, the person should keep small self-defense weapon like pepper spray and stun gun in their bags for the security purpose, and these weapons will not provide any harm to the offenders. Lastly, people should not go outside in the late evenings because criminals take advantage of nighttime when there is a less crowd on the streets. The crime branch of Jammu conducts a survey that 50% of people who become the victim of criminals who wear costly diamond ornaments when they visit local markets, and this allows criminals for robberies when they are walking alone on the street in the late night.

There are other measures that should be taken into action by the government and people for their safety. First and Foremost, the government should increase the police patrolling in these areas when there is an increase in the number of burglaries, which gives some peace of mind to local people. Secondly, the government should install the CCTV cameras in the city which offers an opportunity to get hold of the criminals and impose severe punishment and penalties This way crime rate will decrease, and people feel safe in the marketplaces. A recent survey conducted in North Carolina that rate of crime reduces by 45% after installing cameras in the crowded places, and state had increased the patrolling police force in the night for the safety of local people.

To sum up, in the world of increasing the crime rate, people should learn not to become a target for criminals by wearing expensive ornaments, and the state government should also increase the police force in the areas where the rate of crime is high for the safety of local people.