Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Children need to learn decision making. Although, few individuals think that these youngsters should not have a say in decisions that affect their life since it will create a community where everyone will think about their own. I tend to disagree with this viewpoint and in the essay, I will explain my point of view with examples.

Those who advocate that the kids should not be making regular choices about what to eat, wear, and play may argue that doing so will enable kids to think about their own preferences first and focus less on co-operation and group tasks that might come on later in life. These lads are like a fresh canvas and whatever they learn today will reflect back later. For example, if a girl child prefers and is allowed to wear pink every other day, she might have issues wearing a school dress or doing a job that requires wearing a uniform. In case, the parents of that girl child would have taught her to respect the school or work culture she would have been in a much better position.

In my view, these young lads learn with responsibility. If they are allowed to make informed choices in childhood, it will prepare them to take bigger decisions later in life. With different choices available, they also understand the benefits and drawbacks of each item. For instance, my daughter at a very tender age of five years gets to decide what all we should eat. She is aware of vitamins and proteins of each of the vegetables at home and alternates between them, so both are taken care of. If in case, these youngsters are left out and parents take all decisions they would find it really difficult later in life to make correct choices.

In conclusion, despite the risks of children becoming too self-centric and not co-operating if they are making choices, we must take into consideration that kids making choices have an opportunity to be a confident adult making informed-decisions. Personally, I feel that providing this chance has been more just, and justice in my view is paramount.