Some people believe that elderly employees are more useful to a company, while others believe that young employees are better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether senior workers are a critical resource for employers, or whether the junior workforce is more resourceful. In my opinion, both categories of employees play a significant role as an individual to grow the business of a company and employers should have a mix proportion of both the age groups. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints and support my opinion with the examples of the contributions both experienced and freshers make in an enterprise.

There is no doubt that mature workers are more experienced and skilful, and are beneficial for the growth of any industry. This is due to the fact that they have worked on several projects during their job tenure and acquire in-depth understanding and knowledge of their field. Therefore, they are more productive and can help an organization in strategy planning. In addition to this, their seniority and expertise make them leaders and they can guide the other members of the team to achieve a common objective. A recent study by Economic times showed that Google gains 60% of its revenue every year with the contributions of skilled workers. Hence, it is clear that experienced professionals are an asset to an enterprise.

Despite the contributions of the elderly staff, the contributions made by juniors cannot be overlooked. Freshers are an active workforce and benefit the company in many ways, especially with innovative ideas and adaptability. With regards to the former, the younger workforce has more exposure to technology and they can bring innovation to revolutionize the existing process. For instance, in the year of 2018, Aristocrat, a gaming company, launched a new feature to chat with an opponent in its gaming applications and this was the recommendation of the junior professionals. Another benefit of this group to the organization is their flexibility to learn new technology at speed so that business associations can compete in a global market. Therefore, the usefulness of younger employees is incontrovertible.

In conclusion, as both the workforces help in raising the company to new heights with their individual performance, therefore, workers of both the age groups are a valuable resource of any firm and it is predicted that in the near future, employers will focus more on hiring a compound ratio of senior and junior employees.