Some people believe that the libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent times, technology has boomed and it has helped us in making our lives easier and convenient. many traditional mediums have been replaced by computers. As such, some believe that in today's era, computers should replace libraries as they are redundant and a huge waste of resources namely, space and paper. While another school of though disagrees with this idea. This essay shall discuss both views and give an opinion.

Firstly, many books can be stored on, as well as, searched on the computer due the availability of internet. Everyone these days has access to the internet and can find the book they want just at the tip of their fingertips. Secondly, physical books undergo a lot of wear and tear over a long period. However, that is not the case with books available online. Thirdly, many books are unavailable in print form since, authors these days are releasing only online versions of their books. online books are also highly in demand. For example, according to a recent study ten million books were sold online as compared to two million physical books. As a result, fewer people are frequenting the libraries and hence it is advisable to shut them down.

On the other hand, some are of the view that computers cannot replace the feeling of reading a physical book. they argue that the best way to enjoy reading is to experience the process. For instance, the smell of the paper , turning of the page, feeling the book, etc. Therefore, libraries are of paramount importance as these cannot be experienced while reading a digital version.

Keeping the aforementioned points in mind I believe that everything is moving toward digitization and libraries should follow suit. Although, the feeling of holding a book is unmatched, people need to adapt to changes and try to be on par with technology.