Some people believe that money is the best gift for teenagers while others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Giving money to youngsters as a gift is compelling from the view of some. This offers them a feeling of freedom which leads to joy and excitement. They can purchase whatever they like and spend the money as they wish. As a result, they learn how to treat money. A research on adults who received money as a gift when they were teenagers showed that they can handle themselves financially better and can make better decisions on how to spend their money or where to invest. This shows receiving money as a present may have leads to positive consequences.

Nevertheless, Some teenagers may use the money in the wrong ways such as buying drugs or fast-foods but not useful, so is not a good idea from this perspective. Some believe that money as a gift is problematic since parents cannot control how it has been spent and for what. In their opinion, gifts such as books and clothes are the most suitable presents for children since they cannot be traded with drugs and other unhealthy things. In other word, other types of gifts than money are safer and better for youth.

In my opinion, mostly the aim of giving a gift is to make somebody happy and for some receiving money stimulate that feeling more than anything else. In addition, money gives them the option to decide and consequently, they will be better decision-makers. However, I believe parents have to closely monitor how the money is being spent and on what and advise their children on these issues.

In summary, money as a gift for teenagers is a controversial topic while offering money as a gift to youth may provide them a more stable financial life in their future as it helps them to develop the required skills of handling money, this has to be accompanied by advice of parents on how and on what to spend money and strict monitoring by parents.