Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community .do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that not every criminal should be sentenced to imprisonment for his wrong deeds but to work for the progress of the society at free of cost. I completely agree with the option of involving the guilty in constructive works as it will benefit not only the society but also for saving the State's valuable money.

A good reason to opt this approach is that not every culprit is destructive in his ways. By this I mean, majority of wrong-doers are not serious criminals, many of them are found guilty of small offences such as shoplifting, pickpocketing, law-breaking etcetera. For instance, in UK every year there are approximately 2000 cases of major and minor crimes. Moreover, it is not possible to put every culprit, even for a very small crime behind the bars and obviously, it will not be feasible to place serious criminals such as murderers, drug users, robbers, rapists along with shoplifters and thieves in the same cell as Small offenders may get intimation and guidelines to commit more serious crimes. Thus, the best way to use energy of such offenders constructively to get them involved in unpaid community work.

Another point to consider is that, preferring the prisoners for social work will ultimately help the nation to save financial resources. In other words, every government needs to hire a large proportion of workers for the development and advancement of society such as construction of roads, hospitals, building dams and maintaining drainage system etcetera. So indulging the guilty into this sort of work will eventually lead to benefit the society by saving huge amount of finance. Doing this means, the significant financial resources of the nation can be better used for other important areas such as healthcare system and education system etcetera. Thus, it is vital that state government passes a verdict referring to the involvement of selected sinners in the betterment of community and off course, free of cost.

In conclusion, minor offenders ought to be included in advancement works to raise the society and the state as it is the best practice to utilise human resources behind the bars. On top of it, their energy can be used positively to save State's valuable financial resources.