Today our lifestyle is changing rapidly and affects family relationships. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that there is an abrupt change in the life style of people in almost in every domain, be it communication, travel, health and psychology. Consequently, the lifestyle is influencing the relationships of family in both positive and negative manner. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of life style on family relationships.

On the one hand, the life style changes are primarily seen in both communication and travel. Firstly, the technology improved the communication between family members and one can reach out their immediate family and other relatives in matter of seconds over internet and mobile phone. For example, people living abroad away from their parents can stay in touch almost every day with the help of audio and video calling facilities of mobile phones. Secondly, the people can travel to any remote part of the world using various modes of transportation such as improved road, rail and air facilities. Presently, anybody can reach any place in few days, unlike few months earlier. In turn, this helps in maintaining healthy relationships between family members as they can be physically and mentally available to others.

On the other hand, families are adopting unhealthy practices both physically and psychologically. This is mostly due to the changing life style choices accessible for people. For instance, people are increasingly dependent on fast food, which is causing conflicts between elder and younger family members as there is a disagreement over what is healthy and what unhealthy. Further, the present generation is hurrying to reach the financial stability early in their career. With the availability of home and car loans in a quicker way, they are buying houses and cars in a hurried manner. However , this is putting lots of financial burden on their shoulders and there is always a risk of not re-paying the loan if the job is lost. Elders of family are against this tendency as this would put the younger generation under tremendous stress and pressure.

To conclude, it can be seen clearly that the plus points of increased family relationships is seen with the positive changes in communication and travel. Also, people can choose to abandon the junk food as well as their bad financial practices, which is under their control.