Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison, but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by few individuals that some convicts ought to be given unpaid work so that they serve society well, while others consider that all offenders should be held in prison. However, in my opinion, the formal view seems to be more rational because every crime is different and punishment to all is not justified.

There are umpteen reasons why I believe that few criminals should be considered to be unpaid work instead of sending to prison. This is because most of them are minor convicts, who may have multiple reasons for committing a crime. For example, a recent report by Hindustan Times revealed that in India around 70% of robberies were done to deal with financial needs since many impoverished people are unable to support their basic needs of food and shelter, which force them to do thieving, pickpocketing and house robberies. Therefore, these petty crimes offenders should not be subjected to harsh punishments, they should offer to do the community work.

On the contrary, some criminals who are responsible for heinous crimes such as murder and rape should be sent directly to prisons. If they were not sent to custody then they would be the ones held responsible for future crimes. Also, it is better to separate these people from society to create a safe and sound environment for everyone. Moreover, it is imperative to separate minor and major crime convicts, otherwise there will be strong chances that minor convicts will be influenced by others.

In conclusion, involving some minor offenders in community works is the best option to give them punishment and also as a chance to improve themselves. Since the reason behind the crime is essential to know, most of the crimes are done to deal with hunger, so putting them in jail is a wise decision.