Some people believe that research into family history is useful for the next generations, while others claim that present and future are more important.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Genealogy seems to be a matter of attention for many people. While the study of one’s descent is deemed to be of high value by a generous number of individuals for the upcoming generation, a modest ratio has espoused this notion, believing that the limelight should be concentrated on the present and future.

Knowledge about the one’s family background has been momentous for people who are devoted to their forefathers’ culture and traditions. By being so meticulous of how they managed to deal with particular issues in their lifespan, as this group opine, similar cases are more conveniently confronted with. Japanese genealogists, as a prime illustration, are of the view that if they extract more information about their ancestors, not only are they better informed about some hereditary diseases like pernicious kinds of cancers, for instance, but also lessons they acquire from their descendants shed light on their attitudes in their current life. No wonder, then, their children have more salient comprehension of their future path.

Despite the significance of one’s thorough know-how about their past generation aforementioned, some skeptical opponents of this notion opine that the more they focus in their current affairs and have in-depth implemented strategy to their lives, the more thriving their achievements would be. Being adapted to their country’s existing culture and way of thinking, Europeans, in the same breadth, try not to just obtain information about how their descendants lived, but take quick-witted approach to fulfill their objectives. Had they not mindfully investigated the dire consequences of World War II in their society, German people, however, would not have a booming economy the second only to the USA now.

To recapitulate, although the present life and an appropriately planned future path is of high priority for the next generation, I, firmly hold that the results are more staggering when they are provided with their family background and received authentic information on their ancestors’ thought-provoking approaches toward particular issues.