Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Teaching in general is important for children as this is there age to learn and adapt to new things and cultures. There is an ongoing argument about teaching children at home vs teaching at school and which amongst these two methods is more important and beneficial for a child’s development and growth.

It is an important and a wise decision to send children to school. Children at school learn a lot of new things, meet other children and are exposed to the outside environment which is today’s world important for a child’s development. Teachers at school are professionally trained and skilled in terms of knowledge and dealing with children. They exactly know how to react in different situations and how to mould a child according to whats required. Also, a school environment provides better infrastructure for learning. There are proper sports equipment's, library books and technology. They maintain a balance between learning and play time.

In contrast to learning at school, there are parents who prefer teaching their children at home. At home, a child is in a protected environment and have more time spent with parents and siblings. There is a one to one focus on the child at home without any distractions. Teaching at home moves with the child’s pace. Children at home are protected from any bad influence.

I personally believe that children are better off at school due to the professional environment, although quality time with family is important but exposure is important too. Children who are brought up in closed environments tend to develop as shy kids and not as confident as children that go to school and interact with peers.