Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think that it has made him less social. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is believed by many that people, these days, have become more socially active as a result of technological advancements. However, others and i believe that this evolution has paved the way for the anti-social community for various reasons.

First of all, as per many experts, online social media tools have provided a platform for numerous individuals to connect with others virtually and share their ideas and thoughts. Having mentioned that through these virtual communities, people from different places can get in touch with each other. Not only this, but also they can make video calls and share enormous content with not much of a hassle. Furthermore, social media has made it effortless to post and share happy moments such as marriage & birthday with friends and family. Moreover, there are several online applications that allow people to publish their views on critical social issues to disseminate awareness. For instance, Twitter, an online social platform, acting as a discussion hub for a myriad of grave national and international topics.

Critics, on the flip-side, argue that these breakthrough developments have escalated the level of isolation amongst the youth these days, and interpersonal communication has become a thing of the past. This is because people are stuck with these online communities and neglected the fact that they are rather leading a sedentary lifestyle by ignoring physical interaction. Not to mention, virtual friends are the fair-weather ones. When it comes to mental support and advice, a real camaraderie is required. Further, it has been witnessed that people who are highly active on social sites are ones, suffering from critical depression and health issues. In modern days, a large portion of the population is struggling with several lethal diseases and mental illness, are the ideal example of such virtual communications.

To conclude, although technological breakthroughs such as world-wide-web and mobile phones have enabled the new ways of social interaction, however, in my opinion, it made individuals vulnerable to the many threats as well as promoted a sluggish lifestyle.