Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

We live in a throwaway society and with the ever-increasing waste production every day, authorities in many countries are already finding it difficult to recycle the litter. Some opine that people do not recycle household trash in proper manners and strict laws are the only way to force citizens to do so. While I wholeheartedly welcome such laws, I do not agree that having laws in place is the only and best solution to curb it.

To begin with, complying with the garbage management and waste recycling is a choice for many citizens. Even after laws in place, many citizens already violate it. Tracking those citizens and punishing them is not the main objective, rather educating and encouraging them is a better solution. To do so, the authority can use mass media to educate people. Ordinary people have to realise the catastrophic consequences of their negligence and encouragement can play a better role than the fear of penalty. For instance, Japan, once daunted by the sheer amount of household rubbish, have successfully achieved their goal through public awareness and it can be a model for others.

Furthermore, only punishment cannot motivate people to abide by the rules. Rather a reward system can do the magic. If the counsellors declare that families who properly do waste recycling would get tax rebates and other social benefits, many more people would be inspired. A latest social experiment report published in a Canadain magazine outlines how a community was enviably successful to encourage its people to keep their backyard clean with a simple reward policy.

To conclude, we need to keep our environment clean and properly recycle household debris to save our planet. While proper laws may be a solution to curb it, it is not the best solution. Motivation can better encourage people to do the same thing that fear can not.