Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do. How far do you agree? What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

An argument about the fairness of salaries in different industries has been discussed recently. Some people claim that professionals in some fields such as medicine and education are underpaid whereas workers of film industry and managers of companies gain incomparably more money. I agree that certain professions are overly paid and some underpaid, however some employees deserve their high wages.

It’s seems valid that imperative work of teachers, nurses and doctors is not compensated sufficiently in many countries. These professions require a university degree to be qualified, moreover, the burden of responsibility is significantly high as human’s life, health and future depend on their knowledge and proficiency. Meanwhile, the wage of these workers is average, and, sometimes, even below than that. For example, nurses and teachers in Russia often need to work overtime to maintain their livelihoods. And sometimes they quit their professions and acquire more profitable but less skilled jobs in other professional areas to financially be able to support their families.

On the contrary, people in managerial positions and movie stars are paid enormously high salaries. Given that qualification of top managers demands immense work experience, expertise and knowledge in many areas as well as tremendously high responsibility of a company’s prosperity and employees, their high income appears to be justified. That said, huge payouts to film actors seems inappropriate. Celebrity actors receive multiple millions dollars checks for their participation in blockbusters, but their contribution into humanity’s well-being is scarce, their responsibility is limited by compliance with contracts and education in actor’s career is usually dispensable. Over eighty million dollars income for 2018 of Robert Downey Jr. can illustrate how appearance in two movies can be paid as much as one year of work of 3500 teachers nowadays.

To conclude, I believe there is a lack of fairness in allocation of financial means among various professions in the modern world. Such criteria as the level of education and responsibility should be considered foremost in the decision-making regarding wages to ensure equitable distribution of salaries.