Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

A school of thought thinks that it is the responsibility of producers to reduce overpackage of products whereas others believe that consumers should desist themselves from buying excess packaged goods . In this essay , I will discuss how both producer and consumer are responsible for limiting the amount of packaging of goods .

Firstly , an initiative has been taken recently that customers would be charged extra for purchasing carry bags along with their bought items . As a consequence the unnecessary purchasing of carry bags has reduced in supermarkets . For example , Supermarkets in India charge extra Rs 5 for each carry bags .

Secondly , manufacturers should ensure that their products are simply packaged . Instead of wrapping a product several times , it should be wrapped in single packet which is very cost effective . Excessive packaging has adverse effects on environment . The plastic wastes are thrown in the garbage which in turn are thrown into river or sea . Thus causing pollution For instance , the cost of product increases with the price of packaging , so this can be reduced with easy and simple packing

On the other hand ,consumers also have the responsibility in reducing packaging to contribute to better environment. Customers should abstain themselves from using over packed goods . They should create public awareness by social media platform or other advertisements to reduce excessive packed goods . This in turn is beneficial to customers as it is a cost effective step . Customers need not have to pay extra amount for packaging . Secondly , consumers should be encouraged to buy products in a bulk so that products can be packed in a single packet .

To sum up , the amount of packaging of goods causes harms to environment and it is also wasting of resources. So, we ought to reduce the amount of packaging of products as possible as we could. Both the consumers and the providers have to take part in reducing the amount of packaging.