As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that with the advancement of technology,electronic media are acting as translator for different languages.As a consequence a section of society believes that learning foreign language is a wastage. In this essay, i will discuss both the views whether being proficient in foreign language is beneficial and will give my opinion in the end.

It is quite true that computers have played an important role in translating one language to another.It has become very easy to find the suitable words or phrases of another language . For example, Google's free service instantly translates words, phrases and web pages between English and other 100 languages.

However, it is always beneficial to be bilingual. Firstly, the is a huge demand for the job of professional translators.Many bureaucrats and entrepreneurs are accompanied by professional translators or interpreters in their business tours.As a consequence this is advantageous to them for proper understanding of business deals. For instance, the premiers of different nations are escorted by transcribers to understand the speeches delivered by other countrymen.

Secondly, it is commonly seen that in certain countries only the respective official language of the nation is spoken . As a result people are unaware of other languages. Foreigners visiting these countries would be benefited if they are proficient in the official languages of those particular countries. For example, country like Spain,where the native language is Spanish .People aware of Spanish language would find it easy to communicate .

To conclude, undoubtedly, machine translators are an easy way of retrieving data in other languages.But sometimes it is impractical to use them in our daily routine .Thus ,it is always advisable that foreigners should apt learning the native language as this instantly connect the local people with the immigrants