Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

The issue of consumerism has grown in importance over the past few decades. According to, people tend to more buy something that does not need and even borrow huge money in order for possessing them. This essay will discuss the origin of this kind of behavior and put forward some solutions to tackle this problem.

Nowadays, thanks to technology, the pace of invention have been incredibly increased. Undoubtedly, the latest product would be more attractive in terms of appearance. Hence, some people have a tendency to buy a new one without attention to cost despite own goods has the same functionality. Furthermore, advertisements play a significant role to create unreal needs. By which I mean that advertising by using tricks and catchy slogans present misinformation for people to persuade them to buy things they do not need. For example, some cars factories in Iran offer dishonest options on cars and introduce it as a better product while there is no difference between their products.

There are some methods can be adopted to prevent people from doing such behavior. Education would be the best way to inform people to recognize their real needs. By this way, people not only waste their money on worthless things but also can invest in asset ones. Besides, governments could make a legal obligation for advertising. There should be some laws to prevent people from being deceived by advertising and impose punishment for who fail to adhere to this law.

Overall, it can be said that the main reasons for purchasing unreal needs and get into debt because of them is the desire of people for the fashion goods and unethical adverts. In order to solve this problem, raising awareness and imposing laws for the advertising enable people to make a choice wisely and based on their needs.