Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, there are a few who are in favor of purchasing home grown products while others are keen on foreign products. I completely agree with this opinion and in this essay I will state the reasons for my view.

Predominantly, people favor local home grown products for cultural reasons. This is because they are promoting various indigenous cultures to thrive because of many competitions that they are facing these days. As a result of globalization, small and big industries have to face many obstacles and the least people can do is to support them by buying their products. For instance, famers, textile industries and small scale industries in developing countries rely on local populace to survive. Another reason for this is that people feel the sense of belongingness while they cherish their traditions and values. Eventually, this is reflected in their spending patterns.

On the other hand, there are people who opt for foreign products mainly due to the fact that they can obtain discounts leading to cost savings. It is basic human nature to save money wherever possible. When they purchase these products they are benefitted in multiple ways. Several multinational companies offer various discounts as they are able to offer products at much lower prices and also entice clients with freebies. Eventually, some people gravitate towards these products. Moreover, these products are not only cheap but also are of superior quality. Hence, leading to spike in their sales. For example, people are now able to eat exotic fruits that were either not available or extremely expensive to afford. Therefore, now they are able to enjoy wide variety of quality foods.

In conclusion, while both the preferences co-exist in society due to the above stated reasons, I personally believe there are legitimate benefits to people. This is because people who prefer cost savings or those who promote traditions and cultural values can achieve their goals accordingly.