Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Be it a house or an apartment, everybody needs a roof on their head to live in a city. Although, some people choose living in a house while others think that there are more benefits to live in an apartment. This essay will showcase the benefits and disadvantages of both the types of housing, but, ultimately prove that residing in an independent house is much better.

To start off, an apartment in a residential complex is very well planned & secure. This is because, the complex in question, lays down a set of rules and protocols to be followed by the people living in their respective apartments. As a result, the residents stay disciplined and in order. Furthermore, society based apartment complex are extremely well guarded with 24 X 7 security on gate including continuous monitoring of movement of people, including strangers, using closed CCTV cameras. But, there are a couple of disadvantages as well. The size of an apartment is not as big as an independent house. Also, there is not much possibility to do any modifications. This happens because of the guidelines laid down by the society's management. As a result, one does get enough space to move around and the people living inside develop a feeling of being inside a 'pigeon hole'. Furthermore, it also means, that there is less room for privacy.

On the other hand, having to live in a house can be a pleasurable experience because houses in general have bigger area compared to an apartment. That simply means, one has larger rooms, bigger kitchen & most importantly a big garden in the front. Having more area to move around leads to a feeling of openness and freedom. Moreover, this also enables high level of independence which is the result of privacy. Imagine, a family of four enjoying their meal outside in their home garden, with kids running all over the house and playing with their pets. This sounds like a luxury that someone living in an apartment cannot afford. Most importantly, with more open space available, biggest problems that the city faces can be solved by having a free to use & personal parking space. Having said that, there are always two sides of a coin. And, there are certainly few things that can act as a sore to the eye for any house owner. First off, maintenance of large homes is a challenging ask. It can rob off the owner's hard earned money. Bigger the house, more is the expenditure. This happens because, more effort and money is needed to maintain and service the expensive gardens or installations like a chandelier, decoration stuff, wall hangings etc. And, there is always a risk of theft which also results in expenses like installation of barbed wires, strong gate, CCTV cameras etc. Moreover, all of this has to be managed by the owner himself which can prove to be a big headache.

In conclusion, living in an apartment can be economical and attractive but living in a house of your own with freedom, independence and a sense of pride outweighs the peace of mind of living in an apartment.