Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities , too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree ??

The debate on conventional methods of education is a prominent one nowdays. The main discussion that happens is whether the students are being taught to handle practical life situations during the course of the curriculum or not. This essay will discuss on how the conventional education is not providing necessary skills for a student to survive in the real world.

The conventional education system is considered the most reliable means of education for more than 100 year now. It focuses on teaching basics of every subjects. For example, during school we learn about our country’s history and the world history to some extent. The practical knowledge we gain is during the lab sessions that are quite old, hence they are useful in real life on rare occasions. The primary purpose of education should be to Educate children where as we focus on training them.

The main focus of the conventional education is making the student a graduate. So the student is being fed more information everyday in class and expected to replicate the same in the exams. So the student doesn’t focus on understanding or reasoning some facts, which is very vital in the broader perspective. The practical skills of a student is questioned when he joins an organization to work. The education which he receives till that point becomes obsolete in most cases. So a student must be skilled enough to join the real world when he steps out of college, this is in the hands of the authorities and the government.

The essay discussed on how the conventional education works and where it fails in nurturing the student ‘s future. The students are being crunched in and taught unnecessary facts rather than having practically taught. The education should lead to the prosperity of the student’s future which can only be achieved by making them skilled during the course of their education.