Some people say that in all levels of education, from schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree.

Education system has changed during the last decades and government authorities managed to add the valuable academic subjects with brilliant impact on pupils to the schools’ timetable. While a group of people are advocates of these changes, others argue that there are more academic subjects which should be replaced by new practical skills. I believe that academic subjects are more beneficial for children.

There are some strong arguments why people assert that the recent educational system is appropriate for children. Firstly, they claim that the schools’ curriculum is already full with academic subjects such as literature, math and physics and adding any other practical subject would be a waste of time since it would put pressure on pupils. Secondly, children can learn the practical skills based on their interest and motivation as a leisure activity in their pastime. Furthermore, as they get more mature they will learn about some practical skills such as managing their bank account just by opening an account. Finally, there would be qualified people who are experts in some skills such as fixing a car who can help people.

On the other hand, there are some strong arguments against the educational system. The advocates of practical skills argue that young people will need some vocational training in order to find a better job and learning practical skills will open doors to better job opportunities. Moreover, all children are not interested in continuing their higher education and consequently the skills that they managed to learn while they were students can help them. A salient example of this is USA, that could boost the employment rate up to 40% by adding some practical skills to schools’ timetable in 2012.

In conclusion, although learning practical skills can be beneficial for a group of children, the schools should focus on the academic subjects to increase the level of knowledge among the students. I believe that pupils will have the chance to learn any kind of skill in their free time.