Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Opinions are divided on whether all famous TV shows should focus on adding educational content to create awareness about pressing social issues. I believe that the addition of such content should not be applicable to all entertainment programmes, and watching and creating any type of shows should be viewers' and producers' personal choice.

Although it is generally thought that all television series should create awareness about social issues. In fact, this is not fair to viewers and directors. With regard to the former, people watch television as an escape from their daily life and use it as a tool for relaxation. It would be completely unfair to them to watch educational shows when they actually want to enjoy their time by watching sitcom or cartoons. The same applies to the directors as they would be forced to incorporate ideology around social issues in every TV show they direct. Not only would this limit their freedom but also kill their artistic expression and creativity.

It is also true that broadcasting controversial social issues on television would spread negativity in society, which means that viewers would be adversely affected. This is due to the fact that some issues such as LGBTQ are so sensitive to be discussed in daily soaps. It may also incite hatred and fuel violence. Even sometimes it is difficult for directors to present an unbiased opinion and create such content that the feelings of viewers are not hurt. This situation could be avoided by not creating content that contains such sensitive information on social matters.

In conclusion, all TV shows should not be forced to have educational content related to social issues. On the contrary, viewers and directors should be free to watch and create any show they would like to.