Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The declining level of public health has become a serious issue in modern times. It is believed that an increasing number of sports facilities can tackle this issue. However, others believe this approach would not be enough to enhance citizens' fitness. In my opinion, there are a few more important measures that might be more productive and should be considered.

To begin with, the main reason why people support the notion that additional sports facilities are the best way to improve public health is the fact that accessible local sports facilities can attract residents and persuade them to be more physically active and, as a result, to become healthier. Unfortunately, nowadays citizens tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle, walk less, do desk jobs, and spend their leisure time watching TV or playing computer games. Therefore, people should be encouraged to exercise by convenient sports facilities in the neighborhood. Nevertheless, it is possible that sports establishments would attract already fit residents and be ignored by people who are not interested in sport at all but should improve their fitness.

Therefore, other measures to enhance public health are required. Firstly, a healthy diet is essential to keep fit. The government should regulate the fast-food industry the same way it has already regulated the tobacco and alcohol industries. Besides, unhealthy foods and snacks should be banned from schools' menus. Secondly, it is important to educate children about the way to maintain a healthy lifestyle by doing sports and having a healthy diet. This approach allows to bring up sensible next generations. Finally, public transportation should be improved in order to persuade people to use buses or the subway instead of cars. The reason there is that people walk more to bus stations than to their cars and this kind of exercise can become a healthy habit.

In conclusion, additional sports facilities may help to enhance public health. However, it is not the best approach there. In my opinion, developed public transportation, strict regulations of tobacco, alcohol and fast food industries, and proper education of the next generation are more effective in tackling the problem of the decrease in population health.