Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

The way that our society has evolved during the last years has demonstrated the possibility to identify people from different cultures and personality by only see the way that they select clothes. Part of this change is due to the marketing style used for many retail clothes companies. The way that they merchandise their product has produced an impact in the society. However, I disagree on that. Many people select their clothes without thinking on their own culture or character. People only selects their clothes based on their budget and preferences, nothing else.

Firstly, I would like to mention that cloth companies try to sell their clothes based on people preference but influenced by their own cultures and behaviors. This has been always a hide message from those companies. For example, there is a company called Benetton where they tried to influence people to buy cloths from them in order to show some kind of preferences for certain human races and differentiate them from others. Thus, Benneton’s marketing idea was pretty good from the beginning, but I do not believe was fair and put others in difficult situation.

Secondly, I would like to emphasize that despite cloth sellers are always aiming to influence people to buy certain types of clothes, people still have the choice to wear anything they want without thinking on what other people may judge and what sector of the population belongs to. We as a society we need to stop criticizing people based on what they wear. A clear example is what I have told my family in regards of respecting people on what they believe instead of what they can afford to pay for clothes.

In summary, I would emphasize that despite cloth companies trying to influence people to buy certain clothes to show something that they do not believe, we as society need to reinforce that clothes do not tell nothing about people and people are free to choice what they want to wear without any other means.