Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in cinema.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The past decade has witnessed bewildering technology change, with a proliferation of internet and smartphones the question has aroused on the existence of cinema. Nowadays, some people argue if one can watch movies on smartphones and tablets then why we need cinema halls? On the other hand, I support the group who claims that only cinema halls can give the best experience of movies.

To begin with, watching a movie on personal gadgets is economical than going to the cinema, with a mere initial investment one can enjoy countless movies. To illustrate, buying a monthly subscription of Netfix for $9 one can watch 100+ movies over a month which equates to the cost of only one show in the cinema hall. Secondly, unlike cinema, watching films on mobile devices provide flexibility to viewers. Depending on the interest of time, one can enjoy audio-visual at a stretch or watch it in parts. In addition, the recent improvements to audio-visual features in smartphones are applauded and accepted by people. Considering these facts, some people prefer to enjoy a film on their personal devices over going to the cinema.

On the flip side, though it is convenient to watch a movie on a small screen, it can not give the mesmerizing experience that one can enjoy in a theater with perfect acoustics and widescreen. Furthermore, smartphones do not support 3D or 4D movies. In order to enjoy these types of pictures, one is obliged to visit the theater. Furthermore, cinema halls allow a large group to sit and enjoy together, providing noteworthy opportunity to socialize with other people during intervals, whereas watching movies on cell phones is considered as a monotonous activity. Also, the box office trend shows that people still prefer to watch movies in the theater. Seen under this light, cinema halls provide uninterrupted and great enjoyment to the audience.

To sum up, although people started considering their phones and tablets as another source for watching movies and films, these gadgets can not compete with the life-like experience in the cinema hall. Thus watching films in cinema halls can never be outdated.