Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

"He who knows no foreign languages; know nothing of his own." According to this quote, learning more than two languages has become a need of an hour. It is often asked, "Whether, foreign language can only be used; either to work and travel or to polish their cognitive skills?" I am going to analyse this question from both point of views in my upcoming paragraphs.

Learning a second language opens up a millions of career opportunities. In a multinational company, there are different persons working together in the similar environment and speaking different languages. In such a case, ability to speak another language would prove to be a boon for a person. This will not only help them to communicate effectively but also provide a chance to get familiarise themselves with the culture of other co-workers. Being fluent in speaking other tongue can even make a person to qualify themselves for white collar jobs. A recent survey conducted by Economic journal reveals that IELTS are being conducted in many of the countries in order to familiarise them with the language of other countries. In addition to this, it will also help a person to understand other people's belief as well as their sentiments.

Working could not be considered as the only reason for learning a language. Another possible reason is that knowing more languages will make a person learn different nationalities. Even they can also make new friends of diverse culture. Moreover, being a bilingual helps a person to enhance their knowledge and polish their cognitive skills. In addition to this, this will also create many job prospects seeking hefty salaries. The best epitome of this is the job of diplomats who work as a translator for government officials while travelling across the world and earn enormous incomes.

In conclusion, one can not deny the fact that many people primarily learn foreign language to work and travel. Nonetheless, there are many who learn foreign language in order to polish their interpersonal skills.