Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The growth and development of a child depend largely on the activities they carry out in their daily life. While some parents argue that it is ideal for children to indulge in group activities during their leisure time, others argue that it is better for children to be self-occupied. This essay will discuss in detail both these views, and provide evidence on why I support the notion that it is better for children to participate in team activities.

Playing alone during free time is considered to be an optimal way by many parents. This is a suitable way to spend free time as they will get an opportunity to explore their inner ability. This will not only give them a creative space but also provide a stress-free environment as there will be the least external interferences that could have a negative impact on their creativity or imagination. For instance, when a child is playing simple games like Lego, they require high concentration as their brain is engineering all possible ways to construct the shape of the object they desire to make. Hence, solo activities boost a child's skill level.

However, there are many people who believe that participating in team activities is more beneficial for a child's personality development. This is an effective method because using leisure time for group tasks will teach a child many aspects of growth and development such as discipline, self-confidence, team building, leadership skill, and so on. For instance, when a child is playing football, there are set norms for the group and the game which need to be followed. Adhering to these little rules and regulations will in turn teach them discipline.

In conclusion, although many people argue that it is better for the children to spend their leisure time alone, I reiterate that it is more important for these young minds to get involved in team activities as it contributes to the overall development of a child's personality.