Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The recent decades have witnessed a huge industrious development which has led to detrimental effects on the environment. Hence, there is an argument over the issue of who should shoulder responsibility for alleviating the situation. Some people believe that it is government’s duty to tackle the problem, while others would say that all members of society, by and large, can play a vital role on preserving the environment. Although, there are valid reasons for both group’s statement, I, personally, would lean towards the latter.

From standpoint of some people, as environment degradation is a large-scale issue, it would be solved solely by the government. For instance, in terms of green gas emissions to excess, government can handle the situation by enacting legislation leading to restriction on harmful gases use and giving punishment to factories that break the law. Furthermore, they can also allocate an expenditure on producing renewable energies such as wind, solar, and electricity which would be considered as a good substitute for conventional pollutant ones.

On the other hand, at the other end of this spectrum, there is a strong belief that all individuals are responsible for conserving the environment. Taking an environmentally friendly approach, people are capable of staving off the gravity of the predicament. Using public transportation system and electric cars can be mentioned as good illustrations culminating in a greener environment. Also, it is interesting to note that, if people commence to protect environment individually, there will be no requirement for strict legislation and considerable expenses. As a result, the individuals’ role should be considered as far the more important one.

By way of conclusion, both government and people are responsible for protecting the environment. Nonetheless, each individual can stem the tide of this issue before becoming serious and widespread.