Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that televisions are helpful to educate people, while others state that it is for entertainment. Although TVs can entertain huge amount of people with compelling programs to reduce stress, I believe that this electronic device helps people to gain general knowledge.

One the one hand, TV sets keep us involved by giving out convincing series because it helps humans to decrease stress level. This is because TV channels are constantly broadcasting interesting programs and movies, which keep human beings hooked and eventually they happen to drop stress. For instance, as per a survey conducted by Union hospitals of India disclosed that, 40% patients got rid of hypertension related diseases because of cartoon shows that played in every ward of Indian hospitals. However, I believe it is a waste of time to watch programs for entertainment; in fact, we should utilize the time to watch educational channels.

On the other hand, others say that TVs are good for educational purposes because it helps individuals to improve knowledge. This means, by watching several geographical channels and quiz programs, people can grasp indefinite knowledge about most of the things. They consider this as an information tool. For example, as per a survey conducted by African education committee disclosed that, 78% of Nigerian students depend on television for studies and the passing success rate is higher than rest of Africa. I totally agree with this statement because one could achieve knowledge based on facts and practical understanding of the subject by watching National geographic channel and Quiz competition.

To conclude, some argue that TVs are useful to provide education, whereas others say it is only to entertain people. Although, television sets are very important to provide entertainment in order to keep one’s stress level low, however, I believe that it helps individuals to watch and acquire incredible amount of knowledge by real understanding of the object.