Some people say that when on holiday in a foreign country, the best way to

get to know the people and their country is by saying in a hotel.

What is your opinion about this?

With the emergence of several means of transport, the tourism industry has grown rapidly in the past few decades. It is opined by some travelers that to reside in hotels provides better insights into the population and culture of a country. In this essay, I shall argue - contrary to popular opinion - that the people and heritage of a nation could be better understood by staying close to local dwellers rather than staying in hotels.

To begin with, admittedly, in some countries, hotels collaborate with small-scale tourism businesses to offer tour packages of limited time to some of the famous places along with a convenient and hassle-free stay. Although such collaborations are lucrative from their business point of view, it does not always offer the best opportunities for the tourists to harvest the cultural and local information of the place they are visiting. Besides, the availability of such offers is not prevalent in the majority of nations.

However, on the other hand, the optimum ways to understand and learn about cultural heritage, language, and lifestyle of the native population of any country would be to seek accommodation among the local people and being a part of their everyday life. For instance, a recent survey by the Economic Times shows that approximately 80 percent of international tourists preferred to dwell up in lodgings situated near the domestic areas during their visit to know the actual way of living in the destination country. Moreover, the information about food, places to visit, and festivals of any nation that is collected by interacting with the local public could not be substituted by the one that is showcased by the hotels and is displayed on the online websites.

Having seen the above points, it can be concluded that to gather information about the people, lifestyle, and local culture of any place, hotels are not the best option to get accommodated. Alternatively, travelers should consider living between local people at guest houses when they visit a new place.