Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like.

Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

whether or not universities should allow the selection of subjects based on the preference is becoming highly controversial topic. While some people believe that students must have power to select subjects based on their interests, others think that subjects in the educational institutions must be taught based on its relevance in future. This essay will discuss how students future can be made safe by teaching subjects important for future but learning by interest is more superior than the latter one.

On one hand, there are various compelling reasons which suggests that subjects should be decided based on usefulness. Firstly, it can bridge the gap between the industry and universities. Secondly, It will lead to better future by ensuring that student must have skills which is required by the companies. For example, a recent study in India reveals that students who are graduating in science and technology have better chances for getting the job. Therefore, it can be concluded that students can ensure the better and prosperous future by studying subjects which are in demand.

On other hand, there are counterarguments which are in favor of selection of subjects bases on interest. Learning by interest is more interesting and can brought the hidden talent of person to outer world. A professor at university of London says that most of the inventions which are happening in the modern era by the people who choose their stream by interest. Hence, a person can show its talent if he is allowed to make selection based on its interest.

Should students be allowed to make selection based on interest ? This essay discussed why selection for courses can help in building better future but one can expand to unlimited horizons by learning through interest. In my opinion, despite of the fact we can ensure the safe future by selecting the subjects based on relevance, one can reach the heights if he is allowed to follow his interest.