Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is always a heated debate as to which subjects should be included in student’s curriculum at school level. There is a group of people which is of the view that art should be the necessary subject, whereas, other group asserts that students should not waste time in leaning this subject. I shall discuss both perspectives in detail in the following paragraph before reaching a final verdict.

To begin with, art should not be the compulsory part of school level learning as these sort of subjects do not have a bright career scope. Simply by learning drawing techniques or design creation, students would not get any appropriate white collar job. For instance, if we compare; an artist monthly earning scale is far less than a chartered accountant or a computer engineer.

On the contrary, teaching art is considered to be of paramount importance as it enhances student’s creativity aspects. These subjects urge students to think out of the box, by creating different designs with mixture of colors help students to think beyond conventional theory learning boundaries. By early adaption of creative approach towards problem people become innovative. For example founder of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg is one evident example of creative thinker. He has founded giant facebook organization out of a small social website creation idea.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, I opine that subjects like art that polishes student’s analytical thinking should be made part of curriculum. In this fact paced world, we need more creative and proactive thinkers who have the capacity to think beyond borderlines. In future, more and more focus would be on creative learning instead of conventional academic subjects.