Some people think that the best way to ensure road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding bikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the current society, raising legal driving age is thought to be the most efficient method to control road safety. While I accept that this method has some undeniable effects, I would argue that there are more appropriate solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, adjusting the minimum driving age can help reduce traffic accidents, thus enhancing the safety of drivers and pedestrians. To begin with, numerous incidents are caused by young drivers every year. The main reason is that those drivers are not mature enough to understand the consequences of their careless driving and also inexperienced to handle unpredictable situations on the road. Therefore, by raising the driving age, authority can make sure that even the youngest drivers are aware of their responsibility for their own lives and other people’s lives when driving.

On the other hand, due to the fact that many youngsters drive without driving licence, this measure can only restrain traffic accidents in a minor scale. As a result, more pertinent solutions which can be applied widely need figuring out. One of the most effective ways to enhance road safety is enforcing more serious penalties on those who commit driving offences. For example, heavy fine could be imposed for people using alcohol while driving and taking away licences of relapsing drivers should also be considered. Another solution is upgrading public transportation’s system. For instance, by speeding up vehicle boarding or reducing travel fares, mass transit can attract more passengers, that means the number of private vehicles travelling in the same time would drop to an acceptable rate. In this way, drivers and pedestrians may no longer involving unfortunate traffic accidents.

In conclusion, while the increase in legal driving age may help cut down on traffic accidents, there are still better methods to ensure road safety such as imposing harsh punishments and improving public transportation.