Some people think that the best way to improve road transport safety is to let the driver test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether enforcing it to retake driver tests every year is the best approach to improve road transport safety. I disagree with this viewpoint and I believe that there are other effective ways to ensure safety on roads.

Although it is a widely held belief that road accidents could be reduced significantly by mandatory driving tests every year or so, in practice, this is not a cost-effective way. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that conducting and undertaking such tests would put a financial strain on the government as well as on drivers. This is because the government would have to spend taxpayers money unnecessarily to provide more driving test facilities and more staff to assess one's driving skills rather than spending it on healthcare and education. The same applies to members of the public who could not afford to retake their test and perhaps would not want to squander their savings on paying test fees every year.

In fact, instead of obligatory driving tests annually to ensure road vehicle safety, the better alternative might be to impose strict traffic rules and to improve road conditions. With regard to the former, traffic police should fine heavily those who violate the traffic guidelines. By doing so, people would obey the rules and would pay close attention to road signs and traffic signals. Constructing wide roads and filling potholes would be another way to ensure safety on roads because most accidents happen due to poor road conditions. Not only would this increase road safety, but also reduce congestion, especially during rush hours and chances of accidents would be less likely.

In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that retaking the driving test every year is the best way to improve transport road safety. On the contrary, I believe that enforcing traffic laws and improving road infrastructure would be a more effective solution for this problem.