Some people think that cities are the best place to live in. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

It is important for people to consider which type of living place they should stay in. While some people believe that cities are much better place to live, others think that a rural area is more preferable. This essay will highlight the benefits and the drawbacks that results from such a trend.

To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage of living in urban areas is that this kind of living tend to provide a lot of employment opportunities . For instance, there are a number of industries and companies established within the cities which facilitate a lot of people to meet their daily needs. Furthermore, the educational institutes are often much better equipped to provide high quality of learning. Conversely, it is rare in countryside to possess such high class schools and universities, and high salaried jobs.

Nevertheless, living in cities does present some drawbacks. The most obvious of which are pollution and unhealthy lifestyle. With regards to the former, as aforementioned, where industries provide work to people, it is also a major cause for global warming. A recent survey done by a local university shows that factories are the foremost reason which tend to cause air and water pollution. As for the latter, people in cities usually prefer junk foods which cause many diseases like obesity, heart attack which in turn reduce life expectancy. In contrast, people who are living in countryside are generally surrounded by pollution free environment and organic food which help them to live much longer healthy life.

In conclusion, although the advantages of well-paid occupations and well-equipped institutions that living in cities offers, the problems of toxic environment and unwell living standard should be taken into consideration when compared to the life in the rural areas.