Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

There has always been a raging debate between city dwellers and those who live in the country regarding which place offers a better life. This essay would explore both schools of thought to see things in perspective.

The plus point of the former is rather easy to enumerate. Better schooling, medical care, jobs, transport, malls and clubs exit in the cities than any village would ever be able to match. Little wonder that people shift to the urbanized areas of their countries by the thousands every year.

However, according to the contrary viewpoint, these plus points are the exact reasons why some avoid these crowded, stuffed gas chambers called cities and opt out for the villages. For one, the air is fresh and vibrant and no one has to queue up for anything, be it a bus or a cinema ticket. They say one kills oneself to become rich in a city and then spends the fortune on getting healthy.

Personally, I have always wondered why the rich build farm houses in the country after working for a decade in the cities while the villagers crave to shift to same cities? I would want to pick best of both words and live in a small town which has the amenities but not the mad rush of a sprawling city.

To conclude, both sides of the discussion have undeniable merit. On one hand, the cities offer a life full of excitement and economic progress, while, on the other hand, the country offers one the chance to really enjoy each breath when in the cities it is even difficult to breathe.