some people think that the government should make laws regarding nutritlion and healthy lifestyle, white others think that it is a matter of

personal choice and personal responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The modern sedentary lifestyle and ease of availability of junk food are leading to many diseases such as obesity, diabetes and hypertension, which are eating away the budget of many governments. That is perhaps why many people are in the opine that the government should make laws to regulate access to junk food and promote a healthy diet. However, others say there shouldn’t be any regulation or control over what they eat or how they live. This essay intends to analyze both views.

Supporters of the government role in regulating the lifestyle and our lives say that many people are not aware of the food that they eat. People will get easily swayed by the availability of cheap and junk food which bereft essential nutrition. This increase the risk of disease, and the government should implement a hefty tax on such food and promotes healthy food at subsidized rates.

Moreover, the government can take “carrot” and “stick” policy, where the carrot policy is the incentive given to people who do exercise and stick is the punishment. For instance, The government in Mexico is providing free ride in suburban train for people who do ten squats infront of the machine. Even the government of India is providing a scheme to mid-day meal to the schools, where the pupil are served with highly nutritious food, so they don’t suffer malnutrition.

On the other hand, some believe the onus of having a healthy lifestyle solely a decision of an individual. They say that the government cannot and should not force anybody to follow a healthy diet or exercise. It’s the people right to take whatever they like to eat or the lifestyle they want to follow. The government should just aware the people about the dangers of an unhealthy lifestyle, and leave it on the people to do what they wish. The government can provide some facilities like gym and sports centres at an affordable rate so that people can get motivated to go there very often. But there should not be any compulsion to do or follow the practice.

To conclude, the government intervention is needed to make a healthy choice to the people and to alert them about the sinful lifestyle and eating habits. People should also follow the advice of government and be cautious about what they eat and how they exercise.