Some people think the government should support artists like painters, musicians, and poets, while others believe this wastes money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that the artists should be sponsored by the government, others think that supporting them is a waste of money. In this essay, I will discuss both the arguments and express my view with the relevant examples.

To commence with, few artists are God-gifted. They have unbelievable talent which can be mesmerizing. If such art is not showcased, it will be unworthy. Funding artists like painters, musicians and poets can help them to reach and perform on international platforms. It is a kind of service to the public. For instance, the Chief Minister of Mumbai City holds an audition for the incoming stream of participants every year. Besides, another reason to help them is to help the nation and promote the cultural heritage.

On the other hand, few indeed think that supporting such people can be a waste of money if it is not beneficial for their own country. This is because spending on an individual sometimes proves useless, as compared to the public welfare. They can look after social issues such as poverty, development, and education. Moreover, the state should decide cautiously as it is the taxes filed by citizens. For instance, the centralized money is invested in production for some events only for a day. Furthermore, these responsibilities might affect the economy.

In my opinion, I moderately agree with the latter argument, as this is an utter waste of funds on an individual. The government should limit the quota to art holders as the private sector already invests in them for business purposes instead.