Some people think that the government wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, a lot of money is invested by the government on art. Such expenditure is argued as a wastage, and it has been recommended that it should be used elsewhere. Although public amenities are also important, I completely disagree with the above said argument.

To encourage people to choose an art stream, the government should spend money on art. It is a prevent the thought of people that art is trivial skills, and it is a leisure activity. The main reason behind this is the authorities do not provide career opportunities in this field. Owing to this perception they do not allow their children to choose art stream, and it is credible to some extent. For example, an artist earns a very penny amount every month, but on other hands, the salary of doctors, engineers, are very high. If state authorities spend money in the field of art and provide job opportunities to people, then people definitely motivated to choose this subject as a career.

Art helps people to recover from depression state. For instance, the NMHS hospital, Bangalore, which is an eminent mental hospital in India, reveals that the people, who were suffered from bipolar disorder have been recovered gradually when they encouraged by doctors to express their thoughts and feelings on canvas. As a result, some of them became famous artists. Art is a gift which helps people to spend their life without anxiety. Therefore, if the government spends on this field, then 50% of people who suffered from this bipolar disorder will get help to get rid of this.

In conclusion not only funding on art motivate people to choose the art field as a career but also it helps people to get rid of depression state. Therefore, I firmly agree that the government should spend money on art.