Some people think it is better for people to change their career at least once in their life and do different kind of jobs. Do you agree or disagree ?

According to some people, changing career and shifting to a new job in a different field at least once in a lifetime would be beneficial. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as doing field related work provides better career growth and chances of being best at it.

A good reason to continue work within same field is that it enables employees to specialize, as it is possible with consistent work which they have done from the start. They will already be passed through the learning curve and now with the passage of time all the problems and their solutions are more clear which makes the work easy and efficient. Shifting career to a totally different field will not only pull you back to zero but it would also be very difficult to achieve the same skills and efficiency which was present in the job related with your field.

Another point to consider is that all colleges and universities allow students to choose their career path and provides with the required knowledge and skill set which will help in the future work placement. Employees are judged by the employers on their study background related with their applied position. As a result, if someone tries to deviate from their career, it becomes very difficult for them to get a job as their degrees are not related to the area they are applying.

Finally, moving up in the career would also be possible by sticking to the same field. However, there is a very rare chance of advancement for anyone working in a different field. For example, It is often reported that people who change their career are mostly unsuccessful as they lack the continuity and understanding of any particular field. In other words, an electrical engineer cannot do anything in the field of accountancy as they both have studied and experienced a different area so it would not be a wise decision for them to shift career.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think there is a better chance of success if chosen field is followed throughout the career without shifting to a different field as consistency and understanding are the key skills needed for any job.