Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to take care of the environment, while others believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environment damages scubas global warming caused by humans has been recently the topic of the debates among people and politicians. Some believe to decrease the damage and even to protect the environment governments have to play the main role whereas others emphasize the role of people in environment protection. I partially agree with both views and in this essay, it will be discussed the attitude of each group and why I am supporting partially both.

Governments have the highest power to make rules and also impose it. Factories that dump their wastes in nature will not stop their actions unless they face serious financial consequences by law. Tax and huge fines are the two main tools that are in the hand of a government and can use them to impose its view on society. For example, In the 90s in the United States of America, many fish factories dropped their wastes into the seas but when the new taxation system established which demands more tax from those who damage the environment many of those companies stopped their harmful actions against the environment in order to keep their business profitable. This shows governments can easily turn the trend and make new trends.

However, any government cannot be successful in protecting the environment by just passing the law and make new taxes. It is important that people also are aware of the consequence of their actions and how they may damage the environment and why it has to be avoided. People are the one that gives the reality in any passed bill and if they do not follow it, the bill is just on paper and has no real value. For example, many people in Denmark leave plastic bags in nature after their picnics which causes serious damage to the environment while there are very strict rules not to do it but governments cannot control and monitor each person. A responsible citizen will strictly protect the environment and try to avoid any damage to it.

In summary, Governments have the possibility to force laws and new taxes in order to protect the environment while they also need people to deeply understand the value of the environment and follow the rules. In other words, none of them can protect the environment alone.