Some people think its better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

What kind of friends should one have is often debatable, those that think alike or those that differ on some occasions? I tend to believe that sometimes having a difference in opinion is healthy as you get different viewpoints and it improves your emotional response.

Being surrounded by like-minded friends will not only boost one’s confidence, but also help them seek people of the same thoughts and thrive together. To begin with, friends help to increase one’s confidence if they have the same attitude and focus on similar qualities. A fitting example of this is businessmen always seem to have pals who are into businesses themselves; it helps them bond and grow on the same principles that made them run a business. Moreover, people who think alike seek comfort in people who share those values and find it meaningful to grow their community with the same beliefs. For instance, people who choose to eat vegetarian food would be happier and find it fulfilling to be in a community of plant eaters and to add value to it. Therefore having a group that thinks and shares the same values, helps in increasing individual confidence and to grow together as a community.

Having people that don’t have the same opinions as you do has two primary advantages. Firstly, it introduces us to ideas and notions we couldn’t have come up with. For example, if it wasn’t for Galileo, we wouldn’t have challenged the notion that the planet Earth revolves around its Sun and not the other way round. Secondly, it aids us to understand difference of opinion and respect and love those individuals as friends. For instance, if our friend thinks differently on some topic, we wouldn’t dismiss it at the first instance, we would likely hear their thoughts on it and open ourselves to another point of view, thereby improving our ability to interact without hurting our friends emotions. Hence, friends that don’t agree with us provide us various views and help our emotional ability.

In conclusion, according to me, although there are advantages of having buddies that agree with you, the advantages of having friends disagree with you on some occasions far outweigh the advantages of them agreeing with you.