Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Being a good member of a society totally depends on how a person has been grown up. In this way, both family and schools have a crucial role to teaching us for this purpose. Some believe family is more effective than schools in providing stable upbringing condition but some emphasize on the school roles. This essay aims to discuss these two points of view.

On the one hand, family as a first social agency which a person has been involved in it has magnitude repercussion on teaching a person how to have a good deed in the society. For example, recent findings published in the family magazine shows that children who do not have family have perpetrated more criminal activity than others. This result completely shows that how much family is important in learning children. Thus the role of the family in this matter is undeniable.

On the other hand, schools have always a significant impact on the children. it is because that school is a first place which a person communicate and learn from others. For instance, some scientific research shows how important school is to grow children. In other words schools teach us to distinguish which deeds is acceptable and which are not. Therefore it could not be claimed that the schools are not a place for learning the social basics.

In conclusion, both family and schools have an irreplaceable contributor to improving people’s social skill and learning them how to be a good participant in the communities. The role of family is providing the appropriate conditions for learning what is good or bad, and the role of schools is how their behavior affect on others. So for having a good community with the good member, it is undeniable to have a good family and schools coincidentally.